Smyrna Mayor Max Bacon Named Cobb County Chairman of Bob Barr for Congress


Smyrna Mayor Max Bacon Named Cobb County Chairman of Bob Barr for Congress


Smyrna Mayor Max Bacon Named Cobb County Chairman of Bob Barr for Congress

Bob Barr announced today that respected Cobb County leader, Mayor Max Bacon has agreed to serve as the Cobb County Chairman for his congressional campaign.

“Mayor Bacon is well-known as a man of character and integrity, as well as an innovator and leader in Cobb County. He is one of the most successful Mayors in Georgia, and someone who understands fiscal responsibility. I am honored to have Mayor Bacon as a leader on my campaign team,” said Barr, who served in the House of Representatives from 1995 to 2003 and is a candidate to return to the Congress from the 11th District,” said Barr.

“I am excited to be a part of Bob Barr’s campaign. I have supported and worked with Bob in the past when he represented the City of Smyrna in Congress. I know him to be a man who truly understands the needs of taxpayers and businesses in Cobb County and across Georgia. Business leaders and local governments need a champion in Congress who not only understands their needs, but has a proven record of meeting those needs and Bob Barr is that person,” observed Bacon.

About Mayor Max Bacon

After devoting six years to service on Smyrna’s City Council, Max Bacon was first elected Mayor in 1985. As one of his first major projects as Mayor, Bacon led a multi-year effort to revitalize downtown Smyrna, and his success in leading this effort has made the City an example across the country for revitalization. In fact, the Urban Land Institute has recognized Smyrna nationally for its downtown revitalization and in 1997 received the National Award for Excellence of a Public Project.

Bacon is involved in a number of civic organizations, including the Cobb Chamber of Commerce Smyrna Division, where he served as President from 1993-94, Chairman of the Downtown Smyrna Development Authority, the Smyrna Business Association, Cobb County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, past member of the Atlanta Regional Commission, Cobb-Marietta Coliseum and Exhibit Hall Authority, Cobb Water Authority, member of Smyrna American Legion Post 160, Campbell High School Advisory Council, and Argyle Elementary School Advisory Council. He is also a member of the Georgia Municipal Association, is a past president of the Cobb Municipal Association and was the recipient of the 1993 Georgia Municipal Association Community Leadership Award. The Marietta Daily Journal selected him as the Cobb County Citizen of the Year in January 1998. Mayor Bacon received the 1999 Martin Luther King, Jr. award by Campbell High School. He also received the 2001 Citizen of the year award from the Smyrna Area Council of the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce. In 2004, Mayor Bacon received the Liberty Bell award from the Cobb County Bar Association for community service that has strengthened freedom. The Smyrna Rotary Club awarded Mayor Bacon with the title of Smyrna’s Outstanding Citizen in December 2006.

He recently retired after 40 years of service with the U.S. Postal Service, serving as Postmaster of the Smyrna Post Office at the time of retirement.

Comments ( 1 )