Chatham County candidates qualify for May ballot |


Chatham County candidates qualify for May ballot |

Chatham County public office hopefuls this week secured their positions on the May 20 ballot during the qualifying period for the upcoming non-partisan and general primary elections.

In all, 18 candidates qualified for 12 openings including county coroner, board of elections memberships, judgeships, and school board seats and president.

The non-partisan race for Savannah-Chatham County School Board president, to be elected in May, was the most sought-after position among qualifiers who had from Monday morning through noon Friday to submit their formal intention to run for office.

Sadie C. Brown, Jolene Byrne, Chester A. Ellis, George Seaborough, and David Simons, all of Savannah, will each run for the seat currently occupied by Joe Buck.

Brown is retired educator, Byrne is a college sociology instructor, Ellis is a pastor, Seaborough is a community activist and Simons is a political consultant.

The four open school board positions will be uncontested with only incumbents qualifying between Monday and Friday.

Shawn A. Kachmar, a Savannah attorney and the current school board vice president, qualified to retain his District 4 seat.

Irene G. Hines, a retired educator, of Savannah, qualified to retain the District 5 seat.

Larry Lower, a retired law enforcement official and former security company CEO, of Savannah, qualified to stay in his District 6 seat.

Ruby D. Jones, a retired environmental protection specialist, of Savannah, qualified for the District 8 seat she currently holds.

The other uncontested, non-partisan candidates on the May ballot will be incumbent Records Court judges Tammy Stokes and Claire Cornwell-Williams, both of Savannah.

Meanwhile two of the May 20 primary races for board of elections seats will be contested.

Incumbent Deborah S. Rauers, a Savannah Republican, will face Savannah Republican Joe Vestal in the primary for her seat. Savannah Republicans James Brisson Hall and Marianne Mercer Heimes both qualified for the seat currently occupied by Stan Kaczorowski.

Incumbent Ernestine J. Jones, a Savannah Democrat, qualified for her board of elections seat, and Savannah Democrat Malinda Scott Hodge will run unopposed in the primary for the seat currently held by Monifa Johnson.

via Chatham County candidates qualify for May ballot |

Comments ( 0 )